Organisation Chart

District Collector:

The Collectorate is headed by the District Collector, who is in charge of the Revenue administration within the district and co-ordinates the functioning of all other state Government departments within the district. The office of the Collector has several branches or departments which are supervised by various officers of the rank of Deputy-Collector or Tahsildars. The District Collector is supported by the Additional Collector, who looks after certain branches of the Collectorate.

  • District Collector / District Magistrate
  • Additional Collector
    • District Supply Officer
    • Tenancy Branch
    • Food Distribution Officer
  • Additional Collector – Urban Land Ceiling
  • Resident Deputy Collector (Additional District Magistrate)
    • Revenue Branch
    • General Branch
    • Accounts Branch
    • Home Branch
    • Tanchai Branch
    • Disaster Management
    • Municipal Administration Branch
    • Non Agriculture Assessment Branch
    • Entertainment Branch
    • Record Room Branch
    • Inward/Outward
    • Reception Officer (His duties are as follows)
      • VVIP visits
      • Tour Programs of VVIPs, Vehicle Requisition, Reception of VVIPs
      • Protocol Code

(For Queries regarding VVIP Tours And Their Details Please Contact Reception Officer.)

( Incase of any problems with above branches please contact Resident Deputy Collector.)

Deputy Election Officer – (His duties are as follows)


(Queries regarding the above can be made to Deputy Election Officer).

  • District Resettlement Officer
  • District Planning Officer
  • District Informatics Officer
  • Special Land Acquisition Officers
  • Dy. Collector, Employment Guarantee Scheme (EGS)
  • Superintendent State Excise
  • Mining Officer
  • Assistant Director – Small Savings
  • Registrar of Stamps
  • District Treasury
  • Town Planner
  • Tehsildar -Sanjay Gandhi Yojna
  • City Magistrate
  • Sub-Divisional Officer (SDO)
    • Nashik – SDO
      • Nashik – Tehsildar
    • Igatpuri – Trambakeshwar SDO
      • Igatpuri – Tahshildar
      • Trambakeshwar – Tehsildar
    • Dindori – SDO
      • Dindori – Tehshildar
      • Peith – Tehsildar
    • Niphad – SDO
      • Niphad – Tehsildar
      • Sinnar – Tehshildar
    • Yeola – SDO
      • Yeola – Tehsildar
      • Nandgaon – Tehsildar
    • Baglan – SDO
      • Baglan – Tehsildar
    • Kalwan – SDO
      • Kalwan – Tehsildar
      • Surgana – Tehsildar
    • Chandwad – SDO
      • Chandwad – Tehsildar
      • Deola – Tehsildar
    • Malegaon – SDO
      • Malegaon – Tehsildar

The Collector occupies a central place in the district administration. He is the head of the Revenue administration in the district and acts as the coordinating officer among all the officers of the Government in the district. So far as the needs and exigencies of the district administration are concerned, he is expected to supervise, the working of other departments also. In fact, he plays a pivotal role in the administration of the district.District Collector / District Magistrate

Revenue :

The Collector is most intimately connected with the operation of the Bombay Land Revenue Code. He is the custodian of Government property in land (including trees and water wherever situated) and at the same time the guardian of the interests of members of the public in land so far as the interests of Government in land have been conceded to them. All lands wherever situated whether applied to Agricultural or other purposes are liable to payment of land revenue, except in so far as they may be expressly exempted by a special contract. Such land revenue is of three kinds, viz., agricultural assessment; non agricultural assessment and miscellaneous assessment.

The assessment is fixed on each piece of land in proportion to its productivity. The assessment is generally revised every thirty years taluka by taluka. A revision survey of settlement is carried out by the Land Records department before a revision is made and the Collector is expected to review the settlement reports with great care and caution. Assessment is usually guaranteed against increase for a period of thirty years. The Government, however, grants suspensions and remissions in bad seasons as a matter of grace and determination of the amount of these suspensions and remissions is made by the Collector. As regards non-agricultural assessment, the Bombay Land Revenue Code provides for alteration of agricultural assessment to non-agricultural assessments. In the same way unassessed land used for non-agricultural purposes is also assessed at non-agricultural rates.

According to the provisions of the Bombay Land Revenue Code, only the Collector is empowered to take action in these matters. Miscellaneous land revenue also has to be fixed by the Collector according to the circumstances of each case, when Government land is temporarily leased. It is also realised by sale of earth, stones, usufruct of trees, revenue fines, etc.

Till the formation of the Zilla Parishads in May 1962, collection of land revenue rested with the Collector, who had to see that the revenue dues were recovered punctually, with the minimum of coercion and that the collections were properly credited and accounted for in the branch of the wasul-baki-navis both at the taluka level and the district level. Since 1962 this work was entrusted to the Assistant Gram Sevaks, i.e. talathis, who were working under the Zilla Parishad till 1965 but on account of re-allotment of the talathis from the Zilla Parishad to the Revenue department from 15th November 1965, this has now to be done by the Collector as before. Even during the period from 1962 to 1965, the Collector had to see that the revenue was recovered punctually and had to supervise and review the progress of collection from time to time.